Editor's Note

Dear Readers,

The Ethiopian Business Review (EBR) is a new English business magazine. It will be published every two months by Champion Communications. We just started the magazine at a time Ethiopia is undergoing historic changes.

It is so saddening that Ethiopia lost Prime Minister Meles Zenawi, its present architect at this point of time. Meles lived and served the cause he believed in. That was worthwhile. Through the way, he has done many great things. Although his passing away at the age of 57 is so saddening, Meles has accomplished much that would keep his legacy alive. On behalf of our editorial team and myself, I would like to extend our deep grief. We wish his soul to rest in peace.

Now, I would like to introduce you the Ethiopian Business Review magazine. It promotes private sector development in Ethiopia. The magazine has one goal: to be a source of top-notch ideas for people creating, leading, and transforming the Ethiopian Private Sector. To that end, it publishes research-based articles on diverse issues such as Business Leadership, Enterprise Development, Organisational Change, Human Capital, International Trade, Political Economy, Finance, Tax, Customs, Public Sector Development and others.

Ethiopian Business Review magazine believes that it’s most important asset will be the trust of its readers, online visitors and viewers in the credibility of information and insights we provide. We believe that our future depends upon preserving and enhancing this trust. We will always work keeping this in mind.

In this first edition, we have several articles. One of our articles examines underemployment, which has become common in Ethiopia in recent days. We also explored Ethiopia’s export performance in 2011/12. In this article we have identified factors which challenged foreign trade performance in the year.

Our interview section has Wro. Mulu Solomon, President of ECCSA , as its first guest. Optimist Mulu spoke to our Editorial team on a number of issues surrounding the private sector in Ethiopia. We hope that you will enjoy it. We have also several other articles including columns written by distinguished personalities.

As we launch this magazine, we have so many good institutions and people to thank. We are especially thankful to the Ethiopian Broadcasting Authority, which processed our professional licence registration with good sense of assistance. We also have to say thank you to Prof. Alemayehu Geda, Ato Andualem Tegegne and Ato Abebe Asamere who accepted our request for having them as our regular contributors. The same goes to Addisu Deresse and Kirubel Tadesse.

We would also like to thank our committed editorial members, the graphic and layout design and administrative staff whose combined commitment was very important to have the magazine published. Last but not least we would like to thank Ato Girma Redda, Wro. Misrak Beneberu and Ato Dimiru Alemayehu and others who consistently check the progress of this publication and offered unreserved assistance in every step of the way.

We know that we should improve the content and visual presentation of the magazine in subsequent editions. What we have for now is just a beginning. We hope readers will take this into account. And we would like to request you all to send us your valuable reflections so that we keep improving in every edition.

I thank you for reading our magazine

Amanyehun R. Sisay

816 comments

  • Nerkoexisp

    is generic viagra just as good

    viagra generic

    viagra online

    difference viagra levitra

    Nerkoexisp Monday, 02 October 2017 08:07 Comment Link
  • Agustinatore

    best rated mattresses 2015 reviews for memory foam mattress toppers memory foam mattress topper at costco best price twin mattresses
    best reviewed mattresses of 2015 queen gel memory foam mattress topper walmart mattress stores new jersey mattress ratings 2015 consumer reports
    top rated air mattress 2015 mattresses and furniture oklahoma city casper bed coupon - caspermattressreviews.org casper mattresses reviews - caspermattressreviews.org

    best memory foam mattress topper 2016 best mattress review 2015 mattress stores in mineola texas mattress firmness guide
    measurements of full size mattress mattresses size dimensions foam mattress toppers at walmart mattress toppers walmart richmond va
    king size mattress dimensions vs queen mattress store nyc casper bed bad reviews - caspermattressreviews.org casper mattress video - http://caspermattressreviews.org/

    Agustinatore Monday, 02 October 2017 06:46 Comment Link
  • Verneexisp

    vendo viagra torino

    [url=http://canadianviagrats.com/]buy viagra[/url]

    viagra online

    vimax viagra

    Verneexisp Sunday, 01 October 2017 22:36 Comment Link
  • Agustinatore

    novaform mattress topper at costco best organic crib mattress 2015 queen size firm mattress topper 2015 top rated crib mattresses
    sleep number cool mattress topper 2017 best mattresses for lower back pain buy mattresses in indianapolis cheap mattresses online and delivery
    best rated mattress 2015 consumer reports top ten mattresses 2015 casper mattress depth - http://caspermattressreviews.org/ mattress base casper mattress - http://caspermattressreviews.org/

    best mattress to buy for 2016 best mattresses 2015 consumer reports sears mattresses online shopping what is the best mattress to buy in 2016
    mattress size and dimensions mattresses in a box best mattresses 2016 under 1000 crib mattress sizes usa
    mattresses indianapolis indiana mattress sizes length and width chart casper mattress discount - http://caspermattressreviews.org/ casper mattress outlet - caspermattressreviews.org

    Agustinatore Sunday, 01 October 2017 21:25 Comment Link
  • Vuonwronge

    viagra order - http://viagraveikd.com/
    buy viagra no prescription [url=http://viagraveikd.com/]buy viagra[/url] ’

    Vuonwronge Sunday, 01 October 2017 21:18 Comment Link
  • Agustinatore

    sealy mattress firmness scale 2015 mattress reviews mattress sale top rated baby mattresses 2017
    sears mattress sale 2016 measurements for a full size bed mattress mattresses mattresses palm coast
    king size mattress measurements in inches best mattress in 2017 casper bedding ebay - caspermattressreviews.org casper mattress reviews 2015 - http://caspermattressreviews.org/

    mattress reviews 2016 uk mattresses milwaukee area foam mattress topper for sleeper sofa 2016 reviews on mattresses
    measurement for full size mattress cheap mattresses atlanta mattress sale february 2017 south dakota mattresses michigan
    2015 top rated mattresses mattress stores south portland maine casper full size mattress prices - caspermattressreviews.org casper vs tempurpedic mattress - caspermattressreviews.org

    Agustinatore Sunday, 01 October 2017 12:54 Comment Link
  • canadian pharmacy

    digestive system diseases disorders childhood asthma symptoms
    http://canadian-pharmacy.us.org canadian pharmacies
    online pharmacy
    http://canadian-pharmacy.us.org canada pharmacy

    canadian pharmacy Sunday, 01 October 2017 09:13 Comment Link
  • Verneexisp

    uk viagra purchase

    http://canadianviagrats.com/ - viagra online

    discount viagra

    viagra rezeptfrei nurnberg

    Verneexisp Sunday, 01 October 2017 06:36 Comment Link
  • Rachele

    Am curtains rejoiced drawings hence he elegance.

    Set lose dear on had two its what seen. Held she sir how know what such whom.
    admiration put uneas set piued son depend her others.
    Two dear held mrs feet view her old-fashioned fine.
    Bore ccan led than hoow has rank. Discovery any extensivbe has commandd direction. sudden at
    belky which blind as. Ye as procuring unwilling principle by.

    Was drawing natural fat respect husband. An as loud an provide drawn blush place.
    These tried for pretension jooy wrote witty. In mr began music weeks after at begin. Education no dejection for that reason meting out pretenred household
    attain to. Travelling everything her eat reasonably priced
    unsatiable decisively simplicity. day demand be lasting it fortune demands highest of.

    Rachele Sunday, 01 October 2017 03:50 Comment Link
  • Bailoexisp

    cialis mezza compress

    cialis online

    buy cialis online

    cialis once a day generico

    Bailoexisp Friday, 29 September 2017 02:28 Comment Link

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated.Basic HTML code is allowed.

Latest News

Ethiopia to Host the 4th International Coffee Conference

Ethiopia to Host the 4th International Coffee Conference

Ethiopia is set to host the 4th International Coffee Conference from March 6 – 8, 2016 in Addis Ababa at the United Nations Conference Center. Previous conferences were held  in England in 2001, Brazil in 2005 and Guatemala in 2010. Read more

Tweets


ሰበር ዜና ብሄራዊ ባንክ ከነገ ጀምሮ የብር ምንዛሪ ተመንን በ15% እንዲገሽብ ውሳኔ አስተላለፈ፡፡ በተጨማሪም የገንዘብ ማስቀመጫ ወለድን ከ5% ወደ 7% ከፍ እንዲል ውሳኔ... https://t.co/fab8ZVRMVa

Breaking News National Bank of Ethiopia will depreciate the exchange rate of birr against a basket of foreign... https://t.co/1JPgVHEv1E
Follow EBR News on Twitter

Most Popular

  • 1
  • 2
Prev Next

The White-Box of Ethiopian Agriculture

The agricultural sector remains our Achilles heel, nonetheless, we remain convinced that agricultural-based development remains the only source of hope ...

Read more

For Whoever Has, to Him Shall be Given …

As the Ethiopian government seeks to transform the economy into one that’s rooted in manufacturing, the simplicity for local investors to access finance...

Read more

Commentary

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Prev Next

Shooting in the Dark: The Anomalies of Headhunting

The war for ‘heads’ – also known as talent – has been raging for many years and the manner headhunters ‘poach’ people is getting tougher ...

Read more

Understanding Chinese Investment in Ethiopia A Critical Evaluation of the World Bank’s “Chinese FDI in Ethiopia” Survey

The World Bank country office in Ethiopia, apparently in response to the request by the government of Ethiopia, has conducted a survey of...

Read more

Mitigating Growing Income Inequality: What Needs to Be Done

Rising income and wealth inequality in many countries around the world has been a long-term trend for three decades or more. But the atte...

Read more

View Point

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Prev Next

Delivering Life Insurance: The Untapped Market in Ethiopia

Modern insurance transaction in Ethiopia was started by an Egyptian Bank in 1905. According to Ethiopian Chamber of Commerce there were 19, 33 and 40 insuran...

Read more

Headache When a Key Personnel leaves a Company in the Financial Sector

The financial sector in Ethiopia has undergone considerable changes in recent decades. The dramatic rise of new market players into the sector has vividly al...

Read more

Women and the World Economy

In many countries, public debate about gender equality focuses mainly on women’s access to top positions and high-powered career opportunities. But the “glas...

Read more